Start of the Holiday Season.

18 Oct

Too bad it has to start with Halloween. I don’t like Halloween. I, honestly, find it somewhat stupid and think only kids should take part. It may also have to do with my dogs freaking out every Halloween night.

But we are in Massachusetts, the home of Salem, which is the home of the Witch Trials of 1692. Many people parade to the town during the month of October to get in the Halloween mood, or just to explore a new area. I will admit that I have not been, but my best friend has been twice (stupid schoolwork). Have any of you been?

Well, my friend is also not a Halloween person, but she did have fun looking at everyone roaming the town. I have heard that many people feel the same way, and the ones who love Halloween say it is a must.

There is some organized activity in Salem during October and specifically on Halloween. These activities range from a seance to a costume ball to ghostly guided walking tours. More information on these types of activities can be found at this link. There is also the Salem Witch Museum, which my friend says reminds her of Taylor’s Stars Hollow Museum in Gilmore Girls (you know what I am talking about, right?). Honestly, I don’t know if that is good or bad, but I do know that sounds interesting and somewhat entertaining.

Salem Witch Museum across from the Salem Common

So you probably want to know how to get there, huh? Well, you can take the Green Line to Haymarket and then hop on the 450 bus. This takes you right into the center of Salem. This bus leaves about every 50 minutes but I would check a schedule anyways; they are always posted at the bus stops and are available online. Or if you are against buses (which would be weird), you can go to North Station and take the Newburyport/Rockport Commuter Rail Line to Salem. Obviously the latter is more expensive but probably a tad bit quicker.

Anyway, what are y’all going to be for Halloween. I do not like costumes but I love hearing other people’s creative suggestions.

Leave a Reply

