Free Things to Do in Boston: Courtesy of Boston.com

15 Nov

One of my favorite images of Boston

While watching football yesterday, my best friend showed me an article from Boston.com on the top 25 free things to do in Boston. To my surprise, I had already mentioned many of things here in this blog. I am not going to mention them all here, but I will mention a few in case you do not want to go to the article and click through all of them.

A few were obvious, such as walk the Freedom Trail and climb Bunker Hill. They also mentioned a few trails that I think I will dedicate another post to because I found them really interesting (and, after all, this blog is for me. Okay, and you.). Boston.com also mentioned taking free tours of the Massachusetts State House, the Boston Public Library and the USS Constitution.

One other place they mentioned was Coit Observatory at Boston University. This observatory is technically on the roof of our College of Arts and Sciences and provides a fabulous view of the night sky. Every Wednesday at 7:30 p.m. stargazing is free throughout the fall and winter. I went to Coit twice my freshamn year because it was required for my astronomy class. And, predictably, it was the only part of my class that I liked, and you know what, I absolutely loved it!

Perhaps the most interesting part of Boston.com’s post was their slides on museums (even though I just mentioned I did not really like museums). Apparently, girls names Isabella get in free at the the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum and everyone can get in free on their birthday. Furthermore, and this is my favorite, if you have a BPL card (valid one of course), you can get passes to a handful of museums for a (really) reduced cost or for free! Two examples are the New England Aquarium and the Museum of Science! All the information on this great deal is here.

Now you probably know what I am going to say, but I am going to say it anyway. My advice is that if you are bored one day or need something to do, choose one of the activities and go. Perhaps get off a subway stop early and walk to the attraction so you can experience the neighborhood. Explore the area as well as the attraction. It’s great that you went to the Aquarium, but it’s a waste if you also didn’t see the harbor and experience the waterfront.

Leave a Reply

