Beaches: Who knew they were accessible via public transportation?

9 Dec

New England Sand Sculpting Festival

It is officially winter. It is negative bajillion degrees outside and everyone is in full complaining mode. Ain’t life fabulous?

Well, you can make it even better by going to the beach. No, that was not a sarcastic comment, it was real, honest to goodness advice. The beach is one of the best places to visit during the winter because it is so peaceful, calming and tranquil (yes, I know all those words mean the same thing). I absolutely adore walking the beach when I am the only one there and being able to pick up the best shells without fighting with a small child (who should know to get out of my way!).

But we are in Boston, without a car. No fear, public transportation is here! There are two fairly okay beaches accessible via public transportation. I have always gone to Revere Beach. I have read reviews of it that say it is not clean, there are creepers everywhere and the shops are scum. To be honest I think the very opposite. I have gone a few times and have always loved it. During the summer it is always filled with people, but everyone is respectful. During the winter it is quiet. There are also some festivals that are held here throughout the year (I went to the sand castle building competition) and the restaurants/shops remind me of a mini boardwalk. I really do love it.

New England Sand Sculpting FestivalNew England Sand Sculpting Festival

How to get to Revere Beach: Take the Blue Line to Revere or Wonderland. Then walk across the street. Then you will be standing on sand. I always get off at Revere and walk down until I find a good spot because the last thing I want to do after a long day relaxing on the beach is walk too far back to the subway.

Another beach that I haven’t been to but my best friends have is Carson Beach. I have heard phenomenal things about this beach as well and have been meaning to give it a try. How to get to Carson Beach: Take the Red Line to JFK-UMass and walk a short distance.

If you want a “true” beach, there are numerous commuter rail lines that go to the North Shore, the South Shore and Rhode Island. Although they are further away they are probably a little nice, and almost nothing beats the beaches of Rhode Island. But, then again, nothing beats a beach accessible via public transportation.

I absolutely love my pictures from the sand sculpting competition (I mean, really, who can do that?), so the rest are below.

The winner!

New England Sand Sculpting Festival

New England Sand Sculpting Festival

New England Sand Sculpting Festival

New England Sand Sculpting Festival

New England Sand Sculpting Festival

One Response to “Beaches: Who knew they were accessible via public transportation?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Revisit « Relax, Laugh, Explore - August 3, 2011

    […] It is warm out so: Go to the beach […]

Leave a Reply

