New Years Eve in Boston

29 Dec

I found this picture via Google, but isn't it gorgeous? First Night Boston.

I did not say Merry Christmas on Christmas. Sorry. But it is still Kwanza, so Happy Kwanza! And it is almost New Years, so Happy New Year!

I have no problem admitting that I do not care for New Years or New Years Eve. I think both are pointless. The only reason I tolerate them is because we usually make “Super Bowl food” and when I worked retail we got paid time-and-a-half. (For reference, and take note, I like anything that includes food.)

But I figured someone in Boston may like New Years and have no idea what to do. Well, I did some research (and by some, I mean a little, a very little). But if you are new to Boston, or are still stuck in the city due to the Blizzard of 2010 (what a storm that was!), then this post is for you.

The few times I did anything on New Years was when I went into Hartford for midnight fireworks. Okay, it was 6 pm fireworks, but still, I saw fireworks on New Years Eve. Boston is also having a First Night, and they sure do have a packed schedule! Everything starts at 9 am on Friday, New Years Eve, and the entire schedule and all the information can be found here. There are also fireworks over the harbor, which I can only imagine to be gorgeous.

If First Night isn’t quite your thing, Boston.com made a fabulous list of a bunch of other parties in Boston. Of course they cost money but if you are into this “holiday” than why not?

There are a ton of other activities, including a Grand Procession and Ice Sculpting Competition, so make sure you check out the First Night site.

Have a safe and happy new year!

Leave a Reply

