Around the Fenway Park Area

20 Jan

I hate the Red Sox. Yes, I live in Boston and yes, I love baseball. But I hate the Red Sox. Trust me, I have tried to like them, I really have. I own three Red Sox shirts. But I can’t. It is impossible for me. But one of my favorite places in Boston is the Fenway area.

Before we go further, I am not talking about the Fenway as a whole; I am talking about the Fenway Park area (which is part of the Fenway). I know, I know- you have probably all been the Fenway Park before and you can’t believe that someone hasn’t. Well, I have met those people, and if you are one of those people, I am swearing at you right now and giving you a very mean/rude/weird look. Because you are weird. You have to be.

Anyways, the area is fabulous. Nothing beats the energy (and irritating, self-absorbed, cocky fans) that the area has on a game day. But it is equally amazing to walk and explore the area when no one is there. You are alone on an historic site that some people would kill to see and experience. It is tranquil and overpowering during away games or the off season. That is why I suggest that everyone go explore the area during the winter.

Kenmore Square is where it all starts. The famous Citgo Sign is atop BU’s book store and provides a beacon of light overlooking the area. Restaurants are all around and the atmosphere is electric, game day or not. But that is not my favorite area; my favorite is literally right around Fenway Park along Brookline Ave and Boylston Street. Nothing beats the restaurants here. I love Boston Beer Works, which is right across from the park on Brookline Ave and Cask ‘n Flagon is pretty good as well (it’s important and historical so everyone should try it once). But my new love, my family’s new go-to restaurant is Jerry Remy’s on Boylston Street. It is phenomenal! Of course there are a ton of other restaurants around that won’t be nearly as busy on game days.

But you don’t want to just eat, do you? (Well, I mean, you probably do, but you need to do something else as well). The one thing I suggest is going on a tour of Fenway Park. I have not done it but I have been in the park for an event and it is absolutely amazing being one of the only people in the stadium. They are 50-minute tours and run every hour on the hour; tickets are $12 for adults and $10 for children. More information on the tours, including hours, can be found on their page. I also suggest just wandering into the team store on Yawkey Way, checking out the statues on Ipswich Street or even catching a show at the House of Blues.

Red Sox Silver Sluggers

Pedro Martinez's Cy Young Award

Tony Pena's Gold Glove Award

How to get to Fenway Park: I always tell people to take the Green Line to Kenmore Square, exit to your left, turn left out of the station and just go up Brookline Ave. It is the easiest and most scenic. But if you insist, you can get off at Fenway on the D-line as well.

One Response to “Around the Fenway Park Area”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Revisit « Relax, Laugh, Explore - August 3, 2011

    […] Experience Boston: Explore Fenway […]

Leave a Reply

