Davis Sqaure- A Bit of Everything to Make You Happy

6 May

My best friend got a job in Boston (yup, not fair) and found a place to live (rather easily I may add)
in Somerville. Davis Square to be exact.

Davis is awesome. It is a complete mix of the old and the new. There are family-owned businesses that have
been around forever next to hip, trendy jewelry shops. Bricks, some painted, make up the sidewalks and trees line the streets. You can tell that the area is very artsy, but not overly so that you can’t stand it. Though, there are a lot of emo people that live and work in the area. You have been warned. But also note that that is a good thing and the people that live there, meaning the people walking around, are not snobby, rich jerks. And that is a good thing.

Some of the most amazing fooderies I have been to are in Davis Square. Redbones is phenomenal. It is
southern comfort food. They even have fried okra and collard greens, that’s how southern it is. Then there is Kickass Cupcakes. I mean, come on, how can you not go to a place called Kickass Cupcakes? Seriously, how cool is that?

Anyways, also down the street about 10 minutes is Tufts University. Yeah, I always forget about it too. As I
have said before, it is always fun to explore a college campus and I heard that the view of Boston from the top of campus (it’s on a hill) is pretty awesome.

So, check it out and let me know what you think. I love it. I think I love Somerville. Remind me to live  there if I ever find a job.

How to get to Davis Square: Easiest way is to take the red Line to, surprise surprise, Davis Square.

Leave a Reply

