Enjoy This Weather, Visit a Park

26 May

Post Office Square

So…it is finally nice out. About freakin’ time. I mean, this past Sunday, which was my graduation (!), it only got up to about 55 degrees. At the end of May. Seriously?! Anyways, now it is gorgeous out. Well, a little warm, but gorgeous!

When the sky is blue, the grass is green and the flowers are bright and bloomed, all I want to do is go outside. And stay there. Forever. Since that isn’t quite an option, my favorite thing to do is go sit in the grass in some park (since I am at home right now, in my front yard) and relax. Sometimes I read a book, sometimes I just close my eyes for a while. Either way, it is an amazing feeling.
We are lucky. Boston has so many parks and green spaces. I haven’t spent time in too many other cities, but other people tell me that Boston has more green space than most other cities. Most likely, there is a small park down the street from your apartment or your work place.

I have a few favorite parks in Boston. One of them is Christopher Columbus Park on the waterfront, behind Faneuil Hall. Another is Post Office Square in the Financial District between Milk Street and Congress. This little park is literally in the middle of the city, but has gorgeous arches, beautiful flowers, dozens and dozens of benches and a fountain. I also love all the little parks in the South End. Fountains, great iron fences and beautiful flowers overflow these parks.

Christopher Columbus Park

What I really suggest, and what I have done multiple times, is to go on Google Maps and look at Boston. Pick a park (they are the green areas on the map) and go there. The park may be a bust, but more likely it will be your own little treasure. And if it sucks, there has to be something around the area that makes it exciting.

Let me know what your favorite park is in Boston, or what you like to do on a gorgeous day. And, remember, this weather is a fabulous gift.

One Response to “Enjoy This Weather, Visit a Park”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Relax, Laugh, Explore - July 20, 2011

    […] have already written some blog entries related to this. But, honestly, I don’t care. To me it is important. And the last week has been incredibly busy […]

Leave a Reply

