The Small Things in Life Are Usually the Best

20 Jul

I have already written some blog entries related to this. But, honestly, I don’t care. To me it is important. And the last week has been incredibly busy and stressful. But I wanted to post something because I am amazing. And of course dedicated to all (read: two) of my readers. Okay, and because I am currently applying for jobs and I want potential employers to see that I am consistent. So sue me.

I am currently in Connecticut and have been for some time. I live in suburban CT. One of the great things about my city is the diversity in it. There are housing projects and gorgeous mansions. There are many main streets and there are numerous farms.  We have a Walmart and a ridiculous number of grocery stores (and pizza places), yet mom-and-pop shops are on every corner. I love it here, I really do.

But perhaps my favorite part of living in Connecticut is watching and enjoying the little things. Chipmunks run through my backyard on a daily basis. My parents have a couple birdfeeders where dozens of types of birds come to feast. Squirrels enjoy the food just as much as the birds. There are a few nests in the gutter of our garage, as well as in one of the bird houses.

And I have to say, there is nothing more entertaining, heartwarming even, than watching the wildlife live their lives and enjoy the little things, such as the stale bread my dad put out.

So, you live in Boston. So what? Go to the Public Garden and the Boston Common and sit at the base of a tree (in the shade. It is freakin’ hot.). Just look around and watch the birds and the squirrels. If you are lucky, you will also see a (most likely Asian) tourist chasing the squirrels trying to get a picture.

Don’t want to go to that touristy of a spot? Pick a park. Wildlife will be there.  Go onto Google Maps, put in your address and pick a big green area and go there. It’ll be fun. And relaxing.

Leave a Reply

